PCACAC in the News

Our friends and colleagues in an out of our region are important to us and we would like to share some of their moments and accolades with you.  Please visit this page regularly to learn more about our valued members.


  • Carl Ahlgren:  We are saddened to share the news of Carl Ahlgren’s passing on Monday, April 16, 2018. A long time member and leader of PCACAC, Carl was a trusted and respected colleague, friend and mentor. Carl will be remembered for his thoughtfulness, compassion and wit. Our thoughts are with Carl’s family, friends and those who cared for him.  In his memory, we share his member profile from 2015. We would also like to share a link to the Go Fund Me Page created as a college fund for Carl's four children: www.gofundme.com/ahlgren-children-college-fund

  • Bill Dingledine:  Odds are excellent many of you know Bill Dingledine and would appreciate knowing that Bill, a 40+-year veteran of college counseling and a widely known and hugely respected friend and colleague to many in Southern ACAC and across the country, sustained a serious spinal cord injury and is currently paralyzed below his shoulders. The man who has helped so many in our profession for so many years now needs our help.  CLICK HERE to help support Bill's recovery.


  • Congratulations to longstanding member, Joseph Monte, who was  inducted into the Arts Hall of Fame at Albert Einstein High School in Rockville, MD.  To honor Joe, AEHS established the Joseph Monte Continuing Support Award.

  • Please welcome Melisa Hypolite from CollegeBound Foundation (MD) as our new Joining Hands Chair.  Before taking this position, Melisa was awarded the 2018 Student Support Grant!

  • Admission Practices Chair, Dale Bittinger, has been elected as a new Chief Admission Officer for Common Application's Board of Directors (beginning July 1).

  • Heather Jeter, PCACAC's Secretary and Director of College Counseling at the Steward School (VA) received Steward's prestigious 2018 Cramer Award.

  • IAS Chair, Chris Miller, has accepted a position as Director of College Counseling at Sandy Springs Friends School (MD).

  • Member Michele Flores, Counselor at Baltimore City College (MD), received the 2018 CTCL Award.

  • Mike Oligmueller of NSU University School in Fort Lauderdale, FL was presented with the 2018 Apperson Award
  • Todd Rinehart of the University of Denver was presented with this year's Jack Blackburn Award for Ethics.

  • 2018 Counselor of the Year Awards go to:
    • Melisa Hypolite, CollegeBound Foundation (MD)
    • Luis Portillo, University of Delaware (DC & VA)
    • Mildred Johnson, Radford University (VA)
    • Gina King, Cristo Rey Jesuit High School (MD)
    • Sanjay Mitchell, Thurgood Marshall Academy PCHS (DC)
    • Charlain Bailey, Montgomery Blair High School (MD)
    • Sarah Boswell, Jefferson College of Health Sciences (VA)
    • Judy Edwards, Lake Braddock Secondary School (VA)

  • These deserving individuals attended our 53rd Annual Conference as Marion Flagg scholars:
    • Katie Graul, Urban Alliance (MD)
    • Ayanna Jones, CollegeBound Foundation (MD)
    • Erik Olson, Liberty High School (VA)
    • Meghan Parsons, Albemarle High School (VA)
    • Samantha Ratchford, Hanover High School (VA)
    • Mary Carter Scott, ACCESS College Foundation (VA)

  • Anthony Ambrogi, PCACAC's Immediate Past President and Director of College Counseling at St. Catherine's School (VA) was featured in NACAC's member spotlight.